January 25, 2017 – On January 1st, 2017, the Massachusetts minimum wage officially rose from $10 per hour to $11 per hour thanks to a law passed in 2014. The law was designed to incrementally increase Massachusetts minimum wage by $1per hour per year, beginning with January 1st, 2015 when the minimum wage increased to $9 per hour, and ending January 1st, 2017. This year’s is the final increase mandated by that law, meaning that unless additional legislation is passed, the minimum wage will remain at $11 per hour and will not rise next year.
However, the law does have some exceptions. For example, tipped workers are only required to be paid $3.75 per hour, but only if their tips brings wage up to $11 per hour.
As the legislation is complicated and nested within a much larger regulatory environment, it can be difficult for employees to know when their rights as a worker are being violated. This is why the Office of Massachusetts Attorney General’s Fair Labor Division oversees Massachusetts wage and hour laws and helps workers understand their rights as well as investigate and prosecute employers that are treating their employees unfairly. You can contact the AG’s office by visiting their website or calling (617) 727-3465.
If you are concerned that your employer is not following the wage and hour laws and would like to speak to a lawyer, you can contact the BBA’s Lawyer Referral Service to be connected with an attorney who can assist in resolving your employment issues. Call us today at 617-742-0625, or fill out our online request form to begin the referral process.